First Eucharist and Reconciliation

Dear Parents and Carers,

The online registration for First Eucharist and Reconciliation is open from 21 June 2022.

We welcome you and your child into the life of our Parish through the Sacraments of First Eucharist and Reconciliation. These Sacraments of Initiation are a wonderful opportunity for parents and children to renew their faith; to discover God who is present in all we do.

Children receive their most important example of faith through you, their parents. Through your words, actions, and involvement in parish life, they learn what it means to be part of a faith community.

If your child is Baptised Catholic, in Year 3 or above in 2022 and you would like them to receive the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist for the first time, please join us for one of the Information Sessions on:

Tuesday 21 June at 1:00pm or 6:00pm in the church.

Preparation for the Sacraments of First Eucharist and Reconciliation

You are the first teacher of your child’s faith. In their preparation for the sacraments we, the parish and school community, will support you. However, we rely on your involvement in home learning and at Mass each weekend.

Students Attending Good Shepherd, Holy Spirit or Mother Teresa Primary Schools

Preparation will be provided by you at home and supported by their classroom learning.

Young People Attending Any Other School

Preparation will be provided by you at home and classes provided by the Parish. These classes will be held on the following Saturday afternoons from 4:00pm to 5:00pm during the school term in the parish office:

  • Saturday 23 July
  • Saturday 30 July
  • Saturday 6 August
  • Saturday 13 August
  • Saturday 20 August
  • Saturday 27 August

Attendance in all of these classes is essential to the preparation program.

Important Dates – 2022 First Eucharist and Reconciliation

Please note the Sacrament of Reconciliation is now part of your child’s preparation for the Sacrament of First Eucharist (Holy Communion).

Parent and Child Information Meeting*: 

  • Tuesday 21 June at 1:00pm or 6:00pm

Commitment Masses*:

  • Saturday 25 July
  • Sunday 26 July

Celebration of First Reconciliation*:

  • Tuesday 23 August
  • Wednesday 24 August
  • Thursday 25 August

Prayer Night*:

  • Date and time TBA

Celebration of First Eucharist*:

  • Week 1: Saturday 10 September and Sunday 11 September
  • Week 2: Saturday 17 September and Sunday 18 September

*All dates are subject to change according to appropriate health restrictions.

If, for whatever reason, you feel that your child is not ready to take this next step in their faith development, or that you are unable to find the time to commit to their preparation, then we encourage you to leave this commitment for another time when your child is older. Sacraments can be received at any age. All First Reconciliation and First Eucharist sessions will be held at Holy Spirit Parish Church, Burdekin Ave, Amaroo. Sacramental Program information and enrolment link will be available on this page on Tuesday 21 June.

If you have any queries, please contact the Katrina in the Parish Office

Download the Newsletter